July 4 American Independence Day

American Independence Day (July 4) is the National Day of the United States. Commonly known as the Fourth of July, it is a federal holiday in the United States commemorating the adoption of the Declaration of Independence on July 4, 1776, declaring independence from Great Britain.

People of all nationalities celebrate the Fourth of July in America with elaborate displays of fireworks, small and large parades (several of which are renown the world over), barbecues, carnivals, fairs, picnics, concerts, baseball games, family reunions, and political speeches and ceremonies. Numerous other public and private events are held that celebrate the history, government, and traditions of the United States. Since it is a federal holiday, businesses and government offices are closed on Independence Day.

Subscribe to Newsletter!

Sign Up to receive Updates, Freebies, Coupons, Themes and Free E-Books! View Sample eBook